It’s been a little more than a year since I resigned from my position as an associate professor at a large university in the Midwest. I’m not sure what led me to make this decision, but I believe that my academic career is in jeopardy. I’ve been critical of the way that the university has been run and its lack of transparency. I’ve also spoken out against the way that it treats its students and staff. In short, I’ve done everything that could be considered an act of defiance against the institution. Now, it seems that my actions may have landed me in trouble. The university has made it clear that they are not happy with my behavior and they are considering disciplinary action against me. They also threatened to fire me if I don’t leave voluntarily. I’m not sure what to do now. My career is in danger and I don’t know how to protect myself or my family from being fired or disciplined again. If this happens again, it will be hard for me to continue living in a society where dissent is considered an act of treason.